黄尧基金简介

2001年,在历经多年的画作和文字资料收集、研究和整理之后,黄尧基金正式成立了。

在整理绘画作品、漫画作品、画稿和文章的过程中,家人渐渐意识到黄尧先生不仅是一位画家,还是一位卓越的学者和艺术家;他不仅取得了卓著的艺术成就,更具有强大的人格魅力,并始终对祖国和人民充满无限的热爱。

经考证,我们还了解到黄尧先生的丰富人生阅历,他曾在上海、重庆、贵阳、桂林、昆明、香港、河内、曼谷、新加坡、吉隆坡、槟城、亚罗士打等地居住和生活过。

    黄尧基金的主要工作分为以下三个方面:

黄尧基金的目标是在全球范围内提升黄尧先生及其作品的认知度,为其取得在华人美术史上的应有地位,并通过传播黄尧先生的艺术贡献以影响更多青年艺术家。

我们的黄尧艺术发现之旅始于1998年,当时黄夫人刚去世不久,家人发现了黄尧先生在过去的四十多年间创作的大量作品。于是,我们就开始了绘画、画稿、手稿、文件和照片等资料的漫长整理分类过程,也更具体生动地了解和热爱上这位可亲可敬的老人。

1999年,山东画报出版社与我们取得联系,要求重新出版黄尧先生三十年代创作的漫画作品。此时,家人才得知青年时代的黄尧就已经在大陆出版过许多优秀的作品,取得过引人瞩目的艺术成就。此后,这些早期作品激励着我们来到中国,进行更深入的寻访,以期更全面地了解老人的一生,这项工作时至今日仍在不间断地进行着。从他留下的许多文字资料中,我们也渐渐地整理出1934年以来出版过的各类漫画书和学术著作。

2001年,在新加坡遗产保护中心和新加坡美术馆的支持下,黄尧先生留下的所有画作都完成了分类、整理和编号工作。在新加坡美术馆馆长郭建超先生的努力和帮助下,我们在该馆举办了为期三个月的黄尧回顾展,让更多的观众认识和了解到其绘画作品的广度和深度。展览结束之后,我们向新加坡美术馆捐赠了一批代表作品。

2003年,黄丹蓉女士(黄尧先生的孙女)在与哈佛大学教授Felicity Lufkin女士见面时(当时她是新加坡国立大学的访问学者),对方提到黄尧先生在上世纪四十年代创作的一幅木版画保存在伦敦的欧洲木版画基金会(Muban Foundation),她还提到了一本名为《中国民俗版画的艺术和美学》的书,该书的封面是黄尧创作的《抗战门神图》,这是黄尧家人首次了解到他在抗战时期曾创作了大量抗日宣传版画。

从2004年至2006年,我们将黄尧先生在上世纪八十年代撰写的一百多篇文章翻译成了英文,因此我们更全面地认识了黄尧,也发现了更多有关其人生经历的许多线索。

2005年,黄丹蓉见到了John Lent教授,他是国际知名的漫画研究专家,并在台北主持国际传媒和通讯研究协会会议,在这个会议上,黄丹蓉认识了许多认识黄尧先生的学者。令她非常惊奇的是许多学者提到黄尧先生对他们的创作和人生都产生过很大的影响。有些令人遗憾的是,由于当时掌握的资料仍不全面,我们在会议上向大家展示的黄尧人生经历,只能覆盖1934-1937年和1949-1988年。

这次会议成为了我们在中国大陆深入开展寻访工作的催化剂。我们拜访了数个黄尧在内地生活过的城市,希望找到黄尧在1938-1949年出版的图书。尽管至今已经找到了多本抗战期间出版的图书,但仅占全部三十五本图书的三分之一,大家可以在我们网站的资料中心看到这些图书。

2006年,我们开始不断收到多家博物馆和美术馆要求收藏黄尧画作的信息,当年年底,黄尧的书法和绘画作品被大英博物馆和台北故宫博物院收藏。

随着寻访工作的不断深入,更多未知的发现和信息浮出水面,这也敦促着我们更加努力的进行资料的收集、整理、分类和信息化,我们也更加意识到黄尧先生的故事不仅仅属于他的家人,也更属于广大读者和人民。

2008年,我们通过对黄尧作品的深入研究,总结出了三大主旨,对伟大祖国和传统文化的热爱,对少年儿童的喜爱,对教育事业的挚爱。作为黄尧先生的后人,我们也继续秉承着三大主旨,在不断提高黄尧先生及其作品认知度的同时,也致力于让更多学者、绘画史学家和艺术家看到他的作品和资料,希望能有更多人了解这段中国美术史,并能让更多的青年艺术家受到启发。

2009年,黄尧基金的成员首次扩大到家庭成员之外,并制定了一份详实的基金发展计划,以便更好的保存并研究黄尧先生的画作和著作等文字资料。从2009年11月开始,我们再次踏上了中国的土地,走访他曾经生活过的地方,又带给我们许多新的发现和惊喜。

黄尧作品的所有权和知识产权都归黄尧基金所有。


联络人:

蔡书庭
经理
cst@huangyao.org

The Huang Yao Foundation was formally set up in 2001 after many years spent researching, collating and documenting the collection of works that it holds.

It was through the process of organizing Huang Yao’s art, cartoon, sketches and written works that the family realized the depth of his incredible life's work, personal values and devotion to China and its people.

We discovered that his diverse life was lived in Shanghai, Chongqing, Guiyang, Guilin, Kunming, Hong Kong, Hanoi, Bangkok, Singapore, Kuala Lumpur, Penang and Alor Setar.

We have categorized his life into three main periods, “The Cartoonist”, “The Scholar” and “The Painter” and have built the foundation on the following pillars:

Our goal is to raise the profile of Huang Yao’s work throughout the world so that he can take his rightful place in the Chinese art history and his artistic contributions can influence a new generation of artists.

Our journey started in October of 1998, when Madam Huang passed away and the family discovered an intact collection of Huang Yao’s works that spanned over 40 years. We began the long process of sorting his paintings, sketches, manuscripts, documents, photos and soon discovered that there was a lot more to Huang Yao that we already loved so much.

In 1999, we were approached by Shandong Press to republish a part of the Huang Yao’s cartoon works from the 1930s. This was the first time the family had seen works from this period of his life. These works spurred us to begin our research in China, which we are still carrying out today, looking to broaden our understanding of his life there. From discovered clues left behind among his material, a list of books that Huang Yao published in China as early as 1934 was compiled.

Meanwhile, by 2001, the entire collection was fumigated, numbered and catalogued at The Heritage Conservation Center working alongside The Singapore Art Museum under the umbrella of The National Heritage Board. Dr. Kwok Kian Chow, Director of The National Art Gallery gave us an even deeper appreciation of Huang Yao’s talent and led to a sizeable donation to the Singapore Art Museum as well a hosting of the three month long Huang Yao Retrospective.

In 2003, Carolyn (Huang Yao’s granddaughter) was talking to Professor Felicity Lufkin, then a visiting Harvard professor to the National University of Singapore who mentioned that Huang Yao’s woodblock prints (likely done in 1940) were now in the Muban Foundation (London) and a book, Art and Aesthetics in Chinese Popular Prints, had been published with the image of the doorgods done by Huang Yao, it was the first time the family had learnt of Huang Yao producing woodblock prints during the war.

From 2004 to 2006, we undertook the task to translate over a hundred of Huang Yao’s articles, written in the 1980s, into English so that we could all better understand the man and gather more clues about his life.

In 2005, Carolyn spoke alongside Professor John Lent, one of the leading proponents of the international study of comics, and of comics research within academia at the International Association for Media and Communication Research Conference in Taipei and was pleasantly surprised to meet many scholars that knew of Huang Yao. Several cartoonists also approached us to express how Huang Yao had influenced their lives and lifework. At this conference we were only able to present Huang Yao’s life from 1934 to 1937 and then from 1949 to 1988.

That conference was the catalyst to start the search through public libraries in interior of China (that Huang Yao had traveled through) in hopes of finding the books that Huang Yao may have written or published from 1938 to 1949. This resulted in finding a large amount of works produced during the Anti–Japanese war period. To date, a third of the known total of 35 plus works have been found and is available at our Resource Center part of the website.

By late 2006, the family also had enquiries by museums requesting information and interest in acquiring Huang Yao’s works, which resulted in an acquisition by the British Museum and the Palace Museum of Taipei.

New Information and findings continue to surface constantly, we continue to collect, collate and digitize the current collection but have realized that the story of Huang Yao, the person belongs to a much larger audience.

By 2008, the family came to the realization that the three resounding themes in Huang Yao’s works are his love of China and its culture, his love of children and his love of education. The building awareness of Huang Yao and his works are within the Foundation’s mission to provide information and make available to scholars, historians and artists the works of Huang Yao, in hopes that they will fill the understanding in a small part of China’s history and the artworks will be inspiration to other artists.

In 2009, we expanded the team beyond the family members and a plan was put together based on Huang Yao’s works, written words of wisdom and memory of his values. In November of 2009, we headed to China for a series of fact–finding expeditions, which continue to unfold as we stay focused on our journey.

The physical and intellectual property of Huang Yao’s body of works belong to the Huang Yao Foundation, Limited.

 

Contact

Chua ST
Manager
cst@huangyao.org